All Header Images © Daniel Voegelin  

Commission to Advise on Spending of $400 Million in BPS

Email to share your input.

Updates Here

Federal Relief Funding

BPS is expecting $400M via the Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Fund.

Grounded in the community-driven strategic plan, BPS will invest these one-time federal relief funds to return well, recover strong, and reimagine what’s possible for our students.

Superintendent Cassellius has formed a Commission to represent the voices of key BPS audiences and advise on the best way to invest federal relief funds. The Commission will host 5 meetings that will be open to the public and at the end of each meeting there will be a public comment period. There will also be a 30 day review and comment period from July 1 to July 30 on the final recommendations of the commission to the Superintendent.


Commission Meetings: 

Thursday, May 13, 5:00pm

Thursday, May 27, 5:00pm

Thursday, June 10, 5:00pm

Sunday, June 27, 5:00pm

Thursday, July 1, 5:00pm

Zoom links and sign up for public comment coming soon!


BPS School & District Leaders:

Dania Vazquez, Head of School – Margarita Muniz

Grace Wai, School Superintendent/Executive Team Member

Karla Jenkins, Principal of Higginson Inclusion School (K0-2)

BPS Stakeholders:

Ayele Shakur, Opportunity and Achievement Gaps Task Force

Ruby Reyes, Boston Education Justice Alliance (BEJA)

Suzanne Lee, English Language Learner Task Force

BPS Parents:

Roxanne Harvey, President – Boston SPED PAC

TBD, Citywide Parent Council Representative

Boston School Committee:

Alex Oliver-Davila, Chair of BPS School Committee

Jeri Robinson, Member of BPS School Committee


Jim Rooney, President & CEO -Boston Chamber of Commerce

Neil Sullivan, PIC

Civil Rights:

Celina Barrios-Millner, Chief of Equity and Inclusion

Ivan Espinoza-Madrigal, Executive Director – Lawyers for Civil Rights

Keith Motley, Urban League

Margaret McKenna, Chair of Human Rights

Tanisha Sullivan, President – NAACP

Faith Based/OAG:

Matt Thompson, Jubilee Church Boston

Sam Acevedo, GBLN, HERN, OAG CO-Chair

Higher Education:

Marcelo Suarez-Orozco, UMASS Boston Chancellor

Pam Eddinger, President Bunker Hill Community College

Paul Reville, Harvard

Valerie Roberson, Roxbury Community College


Chris Smith, Boston After School and Beyond


John Jackson, Schott Foundation

Lee Pelton, The Boston Foundation


Rahn Dorsey, Stakeholder


Mercer Xyra, BSAC Student Representative

TBD, BSAC Student Representative

Teachers & BTU:

Jessica Tang, President /Boston Teachers Union

Theresa Garcia de Quevedo, Mildred Ave School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *